Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage Framework is for children from birth to five.

There are seven areas of learning which are set out in the framework.

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development ​

  • Physical Development

  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding of the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Early Years Foundation Stage forms the basis for the framework in any setting (nursery, Preschool, childminder or school) which claims funding for three and four year olds in England. It will probably not feel like learning – most children see it as just fun and play. However, as they get to grips with speaking and listening, singing and dancing and stories and counting, they will be gaining all the basic skills that will get them off to a flying start when they reach Year 1. The Early Years Foundation Stage is important both in its on right and in preparing children for later schooling.

For further information about your Child's learning and development click here.